Beginner needs Help - Unroot Samsung EPIC 4G after upgraded to 2.2

tobiasthiago

Mar 2, 2011
Visit site
Hey guys... I am new to this thing but really need help with something... Here is the deal...

I have a Sprint Samsung Epic 4G... I had it rooted while I was using 2.1. I used a Z4Root or something like that. It was just on click root and it was working just fine.

A few months ago I upgraded my phone to 2.2 and every time I tried to use Wireless Tether it would think for a while and then would say: Can't use wireless tether (or something like that) is your phone 'rooted'?

I looked for posts to see if people had the same issue but couldn't find any (maybe I was looking for the wrong thing).

I decided to do a factory reset and so I did. Super user is still there and I read that that's normal. I tried to download wireless tether to see if it would work but the same question pop up: is your phone 'rooted'?

I went to see Super User and it wouldn't show Wireless Tether under the apps! I am not sure if it is supposed to be there... but it wasn't....

I then downloaded an app to check if my phone is rooted (it's called root checker - it's free in the market).
I verified if it was rooted in the advance mode and this is what it says:

Root Access is not properly configured or was not granted.

Standard su binary location:
/system/xbin/su: No such file or directory

Alternate su binary location:
/sbin/su: No such file or directory

SU binary not found in the system declared PATH

Can anyone help me? I want to be able to use wireless tether again and all that stuff... or... is it ok to just buy the app that I can use the internet from my phone through a USB cable? I've heard there is one for like 10 dollars or something like that... but If I am going to do that how do I get rid of the Super User thing?

Thanks!

Moscow Desire

Troubleshooter
Mar 3, 2011
Visit site
Well, if the apps you use say "not rooted", then I suspect you are not rooted.