12-23-2014 02:56 PM
27 12
tools
    I'm new to anything else but Apple. I just got a Note 4 but am still thinking of it's worth a switch to the Nexus 6. I understand many of us are disappointed with some of the specs built onto the N6 through Motorola. But how come a multi-billion dollar company, such as Google, can't make their own Google brand phone instead of using other third party brands such as Motorola, LG, HTC, etc? If Apple can do it, why can't Google?

If Google made their own phones from scratch, I can pretty much put money on that they would really compete with Apple and probably beat them as far as specs can go. With all the money that Google has (and all of its creative minds behind name) I know they can build a far superior device than all other companies. I would even shell out over $1k for a phone that is worlds ahead of what we have offered today. It's doable, so why don't they try?
    11-13-2014 10:31 AM
    Google just isn't in the hardware business... They are first and foremost a search and ad company.... I'd say 90% of their income is ad/search related... They can develop hardware and then just contract someone to make it for them.... They have no desire to be in the hardware business at all... Heck they only bought Motorola for the patent grab and then sold them off....
    11-13-2014 10:33 AM
    Yes, but that shouldn't limit them from building their own phones is what I'm trying to say. If Google starts noticing that many possible customers are getting disappointed by specs from HTC, Sam, LG, and now Moto carrying the Nexus name year after year - wouldn't they say ENOUGH! We shall build the perfect and best Google Phone? They HAVE the money. And any business knows that in order to dominate you have to try to expand.
    11-13-2014 10:44 AM