Problem w Manual GB Installation

bangnbounce

Aug 3, 2010
Visit site
Hey guys, I followed the manual update instructions, and this is what it tells me, any help is much appreciated.

It says this....:

--Install from sdcard...
Finding update package...
Opening update package...
Verifying update package...
E:failed to read footer from /sdcard/update.zip
(Is a directory)
E:signature verification failed
Installation aborted.

bangnbounce

Aug 3, 2010
Visit site
Not yet, I basically dled the file. Plugged my phone into my macbook, turned on USB mode and dragged and dropped update.zip to my phone, so I'm not sure where it really goes on the SD card (total noob) When I got info on the file I noticed the permissions for 'everyone' were off, so I changed them to read and write and am re-tranferring it to my phone now. Probably will make no difference but I have no idea what to do. Ill tell ya if this works.

bangnbounce

Aug 3, 2010
Visit site
That didnt work. But I got this response on the official thread.

The update.zip on your sdcard is corrupt. Start over.

So I guess I re-download and start from the beginning, hopefully this works!

bangnbounce

Aug 3, 2010
Visit site
Man I have no clue, I re-downloaded. Re-transferred, made sure I ejected the SIM from computer, and turned off USB mode before removing phone from the computer. Done this like 6 times still get the same error, I don't know what I am doing wrong!!!

bangnbounce

Aug 3, 2010
Visit site
K did it, if anyone cares heres how:

Instead of dling the zip to my computer I downloaded directly to my phone. Once done, I renamed the file with Astro file manager. Then I plugged my phone into my computer and turned on USB mode. Then I moved the file from the download folder of my sd card to the root folder. That did it!! I dont know why that worked but it did. And thanks icebike for the info in the original thread, thats what helped!

Dec 22, 2010
Visit site