Insurance on the Nexus One?

He123321

Dec 16, 2009
Visit site
I have a cuz that is in love with the Nexus One, and he is ready to buy. He went to his local T-Mobile store with many questions, but only 2 were answered. :confused:

His main question was with insuring the phone. Who does he turn too, if the NO becomes defective? The reps at the store could not give him a clear answer.

Thanks for any replies. :)

ads

Jan 8, 2010
Visit site
I'll be interested in anyone with true experience on this.
But an alternative may be for him to put a rider on his homeowners insurance if he owns a home. Maybe higher than typical phone insurance, but maybe it covers other items in a package that is cost-effective.
There are 3rd party insurance companies out there, squaretrade and puremobile - I've no experience with either. But read EVERYTHING. Some folks assert that even with assurion insurance that T-Mobile does offer (search their forums), the replacement would likely NOT be an N1 ! Squaretrade only goes to $399 etc.
ADS

ads

Jan 8, 2010
Visit site
Ah true, but they DO re-sell insurance

They probably get a cut, and have less risk than the insurance company on the downside/cost.
I think many reps don't know because to limit their (TMo's) labor cost for support, they're taught, "direct N1 questions to google/htc". But you can apparently buy it from them.
ADS

Your "cuz" needs to contact google and ask his questions. I'm not surprised that the reps at T-mobile didn't know, as they do not sell this phone.

z0phi3l

Aug 20, 2009
Visit site
They probably get a cut, and have less risk than the insurance company on the downside/cost.
I think many reps don't know because to limit their (TMo's) labor cost for support, they're taught, "direct N1 questions to google/htc". But you can apparently buy it from them.
ADS

No matter what price, you are paying Google for the phone T-Mobile just provides the service, they are 100% correct in sending you or me to Google/HTC

inrelief