IMEI number

Jnorton2724

Nov 6, 2012
Visit site
Did I just screw myself if my carrier has my IMEI number to my Nexus 4? What can they do with that number? I went in to get it all worked out cause I was having some data issues but they put in the IMEI number of my device to my account. I'm new to unlocked phones so not sure and wondering.

Thanks!

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Android Central Forums

mattatwar1

Oct 1, 2012
Visit site
Yes, they can see what phone your using on there network (beyond that idk)

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Android Central Forums

natehoy

Sep 2, 2011
Visit site
I think they can lock it to their network too

They can lock it within their network by telling the network to ignore/reject connection requests from your IMEI# (blacklisting the IMEI), but unless they publish it to some cross-carrier database as a stolen phone, they can't do anything using the IMEI that would prevent you from using the phone on another network. That takes changes to the phone itself (to have the phone reject connection attempts to other carriers), and the whole point of Nexus (other than Verizon and Sprint ones) is that the carriers don't write firmware for them.

I don't know how it might relate to using a service reseller like Straight Talk, however. If you somehow did something to honk off AT&T, and then you got an AT&T SIM from Straight Talk, I don't know if that IMEI# block would be recognized and respected when you tried to use your IMEI# on the AT&T network with a new StraightTalk SIM.

Jnorton2724

Nov 6, 2012
Visit site