2 Weeks With the Nexus 4

Rezorate

Dec 12, 2012
Visit site
So, I received my Nexus 4 two weeks ago - I am not happy. The phone's pricing is amazing, and for $300 I wasn't expecting much, however, coming from an iPhone, build quality was my biggest concern. I plan on returning my phone tomorrow, as it's day 15. The Android OS is ugly, and confusing. I am a very tech-friendly guy, and work a lot with computers and other electronics, but the OS is just plain bad. I had friend after friend tell me that I would enjoy Android and the customization that it allows for - wow, were they wrong. I had grown tired of the iOS ecosystem on my iPhone 4S and wanted something new, and fell in love with the Nexus 4 and its price when I saw it.

I received the phone after 2 weeks of waiting, and ripped the packaging open like a kid on Christmas day. Initially, I was happy with what I saw -- the sparkly back, the smooth beveled edge of the screen, and the huge 4.7" glistening screen. I was disappointed by the lack of headphones, but remembered the price tag and assured myself all was well. I turned on the phone and took my first dive into the Android operating system, happy as can be. The first app I opened after setup was the music app, Google Music I believe. The UI of the app was terrible and 2006-ish. I tried to get over it and uploaded some music to the phone (which was a lot simpler than using iTunes - well done, Google.), and loaded up the app again, this time with a small part of my library on it.