Display clock and notifications on 'sleep' screen?

SunBum5

Apr 4, 2013
Visit site
Hi, complete noob here with regard to Android. I finally just saw the light and gave up after years and years of Nokia Symbian...

Anyway, my N8 had a feature that I really got used to having but I can't find on the Nexus 4 (just realized that I went from an N8 to an N4).

It would dimly display a clock and call/text notifications on the blank 'sleep' screen. Anytime the phone was 'sleeping' I could glance over without having to touch or unlock anything and see the time and if I had any missed calls or messages.

This is kind of like the daydream feature, but I want it available whenever the screen goes black, not just when docked or charging.

???

Thanks!

oberkc

May 27, 2011
Visit site
There is an app "Clock Plus" which (among other things) adds a daydream screen that includes clock and notifications.

While this may solve your notification problem, it will not solve your ability to force it to daydream when unplugged or undocked.

runtmms

Jan 11, 2013
Visit site
The app Light Flow (Light Flow Lite is the free version) will let you take control of your pulse notification led light. For example, when I look at my Nexus when the screen is off, if that light comes on blue - I have email, red - I missed a call, light blue - I missed a texts, etc. At a glance I know when I've missed a notification.

Not exactly what you're looking for, but I really like it for notifications.

Sent from my Nexus 4 on Solavei

SunBum5

Apr 4, 2013
Visit site
Thanks for the help. I found the clock plus thing. I'm just surprised there's not a way to put that on the sleep screen. It's one of those things that was really handy.

Rizy7

Dec 6, 2012
Visit site
Obviously the N4 could ever only be half the phone the N8 was.. Google fail..