Tips and tricks for prolonging battery life (4.3) to a Nexus 4 newbie?

wonderful_donut

Aug 8, 2013
Visit site
I should preface this with saying, I am not an Android newbie, but I am not an Android guru either. I know enough to get my way around, but I couldn't tell you how to code for it or anything.

I just picked up my Nexus 4 on Monday and so far, it's AMAZING. I am upgrading from a HTC Inspire and it was not a great phone. In fact, I hated everything about it. Moving to the N4 was insane. It was like going from beat up, dying Geo Metro, to a fast, sexy, but cheap car. (I suck at these metaphors). I plan to keep it stock for a while as I don't know much of rooting. I had rooted my Samsung Infuse some time ago and it was nice and simple, but I never really did anything with it.

So far, everything is great except for my battery life. I have a Nexus 7 tablet as well, and since getting the OTA 4.3, I noticed a decent battery life boost, but not in my phone. The first day I had the phone, I got about 4 hours of screen on throughout the day. Much better than the 1 of screen-on I got with my Inspire. I got 4.3 at the end of Monday and have been using it yesterday and today.

Yesterday, I got about 3 hours of screen on, and now today, 2 hours and 15 minutes of screen on before I was at 18% battery, discharging from 100%.

I have a reasonable amount of apps, but I am not a power user or anything. I don't use widgets and ALL of my apps have notifications disabled except for Facebook Messenger. I mostly use social media apps and I know that Facebook is a battery zapper, but I don't use it THAT much. I think of the 2 hours I had today, maybe 20 minutes of it was FB. The rest was Snapchat and Instagram. Yeah, I know that camera apps are also battery zappers, but 2 hours seems pretty ridiculous.