AIO poor signal

nelhop

Oct 9, 2012
Visit site
I just spent several hours with 3 different chat people at AIO. (I'm hearing impaired and have a difficult time with telephone conversations so I use chat.) Supposedly at my home address I should get LTE service. I purchased one month $55 service yesterday with the sim card I purchased from AIO for $10. I activated without problem and was given a new number. I consistently get 0 to 2 bars of signal strength. That doesn't seem like LTE but I am a newbie at this sort of thing. Two chat personal had me change the APN data and did some resetting from their end. I was asked to wait 15 minutes before re-inserting the sim card and turning on the Nexus 5. No change. There now appears an "H" next to the 0 - 2 bars which I don't know the meaning of. The third person I chatted with said even though I have had their service for less than 24 hours their policy is no refunds. She also said that they don't guarantee performance if you don't buy your device from them.

Does anyone have any suggetions to offer? I hate to lose $55 and go to Straight Talk or AT&T which may or may not be better.

N4Newbie

Trusted Member
Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
Well, first of all, step outside your home and see what your service is like. If you are able, walk a block in any direction and see what it is like there.

Secondly, what type of home are you in? Small, single-family, wood-frame construction? Larger home or brick construction? Apartment complex? All of these things will affect in-building signal strength.

junglejunkie

Jun 17, 2010
Visit site
I have my N5 on Aio as well. It registers LTE for me. FYI, levels of cellular service are as follows: LTE > HSPA (H) > 3G > 2G (EDGE) > GPRS (G).

These are the APN settings I used:

Name: Aio Wireless
APN: ndo
Proxy: Not Set
Port: Not Set
Username: Not Set
Password: Not Set
Server: Not Set
MMSC: http://mmsc.aiowireless.net
MMS Proxy: proxy.aiowireless.net
MMS Port: 80
MCC: 310
MNC: 150