SwiftKey vs Standard Nexus 5 Keyboard

p3ntyne

Dec 15, 2013
Visit site
I keep seeing people drooling over the SwiftKey Keyboard app. Heck, it's in Alex's "Editors' top apps" article:

Editors' top apps: Alex's picks for 2013 | Android Central

I'm now to Android phones, but this standard keyboard app that comes on the Nexus 5 seems perfectly fine to me. What's the advantage of SwiftKey?

I also think the standard one is perfectly fine, in fact, I like it better -I guess swiftkey did give more accurate word suggestions though. (And maybe those funny shaped keys were supposed to make a difference too.)

Posted via Android Central App

tgp

Trusted Member
Nov 15, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to Android phones, but this standard keyboard app that comes on the Nexus 5 seems perfectly fine to me. What's the advantage of SwiftKey?

I use SwiftKey, but I started back before Google keyboard was as good as it is now. The big thing for me at the time was the sliding feature, which the stock keyboard now has.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

net62957

Aug 31, 2013
Visit site
I like the customization that comes with it especially enlarging the keys and the different themes. The predictive text seems uncanny at times.

srkmagnus

Retired Moderator
May 23, 2010
Visit site
SwiftKey has a great prediction engine. It's not for everyone. But those who don't like the stock keyboard, or want something with predictive text, SwiftKey is a good alternative.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using AC Forums mobile app

ptonantryloc

Jun 10, 2013
Visit site
I've got to admit, the stock keyboard's predictive abilities have not seemed all that great to me. I hadn't seen that there was a free trial version. I guess I'll give it a try and see how it works.

srkmagnus

Retired Moderator
May 23, 2010
Visit site
I've got to admit, the stock keyboard's predictive abilities have not seemed all that great to me. I hadn't seen that there was a free trial version. I guess I'll give it a try and see how it works.