Nexus 5: MMS messages not being received in Hangouts

greggov

Nov 7, 2012
Visit site
I'm an Android newbie, just picked up a Nexus 5 last weekend. So far I love it!

Except now I'm having an issue. My fiancee has an iphone and has been trying to send me MMS, and they're not coming through to the Hangouts app. I have auto-retrieve set to ON (even checked auto retrieve on roaming just to make sure). I'm on LTE in NYC (AT&T). I've rebooted the phone, tried deleting the message thread and starting a new one, airplane mode, etc...APN seems fine.

The strange part is this was working just the other day. Now, I'm totally new to Android (coming from an iPhone) so is it possible I changed some setting without knowing what I was doing? Possibly. Do I recall what I did? Nope.

Even stranger: Textra shows the image fine. Hangouts does not.

Help please? Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

greggov

Nov 7, 2012
Visit site
Re: MMS messages not being received in Hangouts

Super confused. I just tried to email myself an image via mynumber@mms.att.net and it gets delivered to Hangouts (late), but then just displays: "touch to download MMS" and that does nothing. It will eventually just time out and retry and time out.

I set Textra as the default and then re-enabled Hangouts as the default. Didn't help.

It's so bizarre that the phone seems to be receiving them (Textra pulls them in) so the APN and all other settings must be right. Just that Hangouts seems to be having issues pulling them in and interpreting them. I'll try to uninstall hangouts and then reinstall.

patruns

May 21, 2011
Visit site

Did you disable iChat in your iTunes account before you switched?

greggov

Nov 7, 2012
Visit site

Did you disable iChat in your iTunes account before you switched?

Yup, I made sure to do that before I activated the Nexus.