Need help inderstanding cell strength/mode indicator

maxq54

Dec 10, 2013
Visit site
I looked, but didn't see any posts clearly on point... I'm new to the N5 (on AIO/Cricket) and am trying to figure out some of the basics, along with understanding the difference between LTE, H, etc.

At home and with wifi turned on, I usually see 2 bars on the cell strength indicator. There is no other indication of what it is (no H, no LTE, etc).

1) If I make a call with wifi on, I get 4 bars and still no H, LTE, etc.
2) If I turn wifi off, I get two or three bars and it says LTE; then, if I make a call with wifi off, it jumps to 4 bars and says H for the duration of the call. When I hang up, it returns to LTE within a few seconds with 2 or 3 bars

So, what the heck mode am I using if there is no indicator above the bars? And, why is it with H when wifi is off and no H when wifi is on? The reception on all the calls seems fine, but I'm curious......Thanks for all the great posts and help provided here!

[Tried to correct my typo in Subject, but I apparently can't. :-( ]

Last edited:

N4Newbie

Trusted Member
Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
1) You will only see LTE, H, or E when you have a cellular data connection.
2) An active Wi-Fi connection automatically disables cellular data
3) Cellular data doesn't work while a call is in progress

Analyze these three statements and see if the answers to your questions lie within. :)

kd0h

Nov 3, 2013
Visit site
I looked, but didn't see any posts clearly on point... I'm new to the N5 (on AIO/Cricket) and am trying to figure out some of the basics, along with understanding the difference between LTE, H, etc.

At home and with wifi turned on, I usually see 2 bars on the cell strength indicator. There is no other indication of what it is (no H, no LTE, etc).

1) If I make a call with wifi on, I get 4 bars and still no H, LTE, etc.