Battery life is TERRIBLE 5.1

slave

Jul 23, 2010
Visit site
I have a Nexus 6, but the size is not working for my job. I can't fit in the pocket of my scrubs (1st world problems). I got my wife's Nexus 5, as she had just gotten a S6.

I reset phone, rooted it, set it up. This phone is getting 2 hours of screen on time, and dead in 6. I wonder if the battery is just bad, or are these phones this bad on 5.1.

Anyone else having this issue?

gadgetgirl3

Dec 19, 2011
Visit site
I work in a hospital lab.....cargo scrub pants.....no problem!

I work 10 hour shifts. Phone rides along in my side pants pocket. Still have at least 50 % battery left when I get home with average use - surfing, forum reading, texting, playing music during ride to and from work. No gaming.

slave

Jul 23, 2010
Visit site
I wish we had side cargo pockets! I would just keep my 6. Our surgical scrubs have the one back, and one top pocket.... Yuck.

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
I reset phone, rooted it, set it up. This phone is getting 2 hours of screen on time, and dead in 6. I wonder if the battery is just bad, or are these phones this bad on 5.1.
5.1 is actually supposed to improve battery life, but ...

If the mobile signal is weak, the phone will use a lot of battery power. (if it's weak from the tower to the phone it's going to be weak from the phone to the tower, so the phone turns up the transmitter power - and that uses a lot of battery.)

Also, if the battery's been drained down to 5% or 10% regularly, after 17 months it may be way past time to replace it. (A lithium battery never dropped below 40% can last for years, but one dropped to almost dead all the time can be gone in 6 months.)

See The Care and Feeding of Lithium Polymer Batteries.

vividrich

Jul 26, 2012
Visit site
My phone radio (as reported by GSAM battery monitor) will go nuts on occasion and really drain the battery. A reboot sorts it. Otherwise 5.1 seems ok.