Amazon to make the Next Nexus Device??

diesteldorf

Dec 1, 2010
Visit site
Forgive me for cross posting, but the Fire phone forum seems dead....

If there is a catch, I apologize, as this seams too good to be true.....

Just saw this on Slickdeals:

32GB Amazon Fire Unlocked GSM Phone + 1-Year Amazon Prime Membership $199 + Free Shipping - Amazon Deals, Coupons and Promos

They are selling the phone $199.99 Off Contract and still including a year of Amazon Prime.

I have no need to get another phone, as I just got a new Nexus 6 a few days ago, but it includes a year of Prime and is off contract.

This seems to be as good as the HP Touchpad sale a couple years ago. Once developers got a hold of it, it was a damn fine Android Tablet.

I'm really not trying to thread crap, but OMG, this seems like a steal.

I am not a techie, but can someone weigh in and give their opinion if this has the potential to run Lollipop?

The Nexus 6 is awesome, but if the Fire Phone can run Lollipop too...

Anybody else going to buy one?

diesteldorf

Dec 1, 2010
Visit site
I just pulled the trigger, as it will also work on Tmobile too and I don't have PRIME. Also, if you have Prime and buy this, it will extend your membership for one more year....

As I said, this was an impulse buy.

Can anyone give any advice on how easy it would be to turn this into a cheap Android phone running KitKat or Lollipop. I really have no need for a smartphone without all the Google services.

I actually feel a little bad for Amazon. It seems like a nice phone with nice hardware, but apparently most people took a pass.

UPDATE: I reconsidered and canceled my order. I don't really need
one and the developer support for Lollipop may or may not come.

Maybe the phone really is a lemon, or maybe I'll order it again tomorrow.

Just seems like it may have some potential down the road like the old HP Touchpad.

Last edited:

Closingracer

Banned
Apr 5, 2012
Visit site