Do I Really Need a Tablet?

chandlerbbailey

Jul 13, 2012
Visit site
Hey guys, new to Android Central but I'm a huge tech fan!

My birthday is coming up next month, and I've been looking into tablets and laptops that are decently priced.

The Nexus 7 seems like it packed a lot into a $200 investment.

The thing is, is there really a need for one if I already have an Android smartphone and a desktop computer? We are also supposed to be getting Chromebooks for school in about two months.

Since I already have access to those devices, would it be worth it to purchase a tablet (specifically the Nexus 7)?

I've never owned a tablet but I've been able to use them for a little while before.

I see a tablet as a cheaper alternative to a laptop, and more for entertainment. That basically describes my needs.

What is your opinion?

Thanks

Hovik818

Sep 30, 2010
Visit site
I think tablets are a great form of entertainment and can also be used well for school. Let's just say if I didn't own a XOOM and Kindle Fire, this tablet would be in my hands now.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Android Central Forums

Reactions: chandlerbbailey

Ravynmagi

Nov 11, 2010
Visit site
I remember when the first iPad came out, I thought was a stupid thing, that won't catch on.

Then a while later I bought a Kindle 3 and used it's experimental web browser. And I finally saw the light. Being able to surf the web would be awesome with something I hold in my hand like a book with a nice large screen.

I ran out and bought an iPad then (this was before Honeycomb and most Android tablets still sucked).

credo

May 1, 2010
Visit site
So overall, do you guys think that a tablet is indeed a useful device to have?

Yes. I took my Fire with me everywhere. Started to read a lot more. Had most of my college text books on it. Kept work documents on it. The N7 will be even more than the fire. Yes its like a smartphone but a larger (but portable) screen is a plus.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2