Text Entry: Is it good enough yet?

bennyscuba

Jul 20, 2012
Visit site
Hello All,

I have yet to buy a tablet b/c I'm not convinced that for the main way I'd use it, they are good enough yet - but would love to be told I'm wrong. My main interest is using the tablet for work as a digital notebook(s). I work on lots of different collaborative projects (i'm a statistician) and have too many yellow legal pads. I want to have one repository where I can take notes and store them in project specific spaces. Then I want those notes to sync up with my desktop so that I can access them as I want.

I know the apps are there for it (things like evernote and others) but I primarily would want to enter text by hand. Partially b/c i may write mathy stuff, partially to draw sample plots, and partially b/c I think writing is a bit faster than typing...Ideally the text I write would be converted to a searchable format but that is less than essential.

I've been waiting on the Galaxy Note 10.1 but that seems like it will never get released and the truth is I don't need a quad core processor for what i'm doing. I won't play games on this tab and will only watch the occasional movie on a flight. This is really a business laptop.

$200 and 7" sound perfect to me - so the question is, will the nexus 7 meet this specific goal. If the technology just isn't there yet I don't mind waiting, but if it is - woohoo!

Thanks for the insight,

bg

ShaggyKids

Dec 1, 2010
Visit site
If you're going to be doing mostly finger work I think if you added the appropriate tablet keyboard you might find yourself very happy.,,, if you haven't tried a tab yet then I would suggest you give it a shot before you make the determination that they're not good enough. You may find that your selling them and yourself short. You can always return it if it doesn't suit your needs.

Sent from my AWESOME Nexus 7 via Tapatalk 2 :)

bennyscuba

Jul 20, 2012
Visit site