Hi. First post, hello all.

UK user and Android newbie.

I am trying to use music on my Nexus. I sync fine (.wma files, which should be supported, right?) via USB (Win 7 / WMP to Android device). But the music files don't show up anywhere on the device. I've downloaded realplayer and tried the google music app already installed but... nothing.

It's driving me nuts. I've never come across a device where it's so tricky to do something so simple. Any help appreciated.

Airfix.
    08-18-2012 07:33 AM
    Hi and welcome! I'm new to Android too so bare with me but I believe you might need a file explorer to find the music files you put on your N7 and move them to the proper folder.

Note: The music files have to be DRM-free.

Free file explorers from the Google Play store: ES File Explorer, Solid Explorer and Astro File Explorer to name a few.

Hopefully someone more knowledgeable comes long and chimes in.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapat DRM-free alk 2
    08-18-2012 08:37 AM
    I don't know how to get the nexus 7 to scan for media files. On my phone I just unmount and remount the sdcard. Rebooting the nexus 7 should cause a rescan.

You can try uploading the files to Google music using the computer app and then they should show up in the Google play music app on your nexus 7

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
    08-18-2012 08:39 AM
    I'm in the UK. Google Play doesn't work for me.
    08-18-2012 08:42 AM
    Thanks for the replies didn't want to be rude. The reason I'm annoyed is that Android is meant to be about cross-platform compatibility (the reason I'm not into Apple) yet here I am unable to perform an astonishingly simple task, plus Google can't be bothered to roll out a core service to Europe. Sheesh. I should be able to sync and play music easily, out of the box without d/l apps FFS.
    08-18-2012 08:45 AM
    On my Thunderbolt I used to use an app called "Rescan Media". It forced a media rescan. Worked well for me.