What's the Most Efficient Way to Organize Icons in the Home and Apps Screens?

jdanniel

Sep 8, 2012
Visit site
Hi. I'm new to Android, having just bought a 16 GB Nexus 7. I need some help organizing the home and Apps screens.

Honestly, right now I don't think I have a clue what I'm doing.

I deleted the My Library stuff on the initial screen, and I deleted a couple of other things. I've been told the things I deleted are widgets. Obviously, I haven't yet learned much about widgets.
After deleting those things, I have a big blank screen. I have to scroll to the next screen to see various icons. I've figured out how to move icons: I press down on one, hold it, and drag it over to the previous screen. (I believe that is called a long tap.)

So, now I have a few questions about this. You'll see in a moment exactly how new I am to all this.

1. Is there a way to move multiple icons from screen to screen? So far, I have figured out how to move only one at a time, which is time-consuming.
2. Is it possible to move icons across more than one screen? So far, I can move an icon from one screen to another, but I have to move some across a couple of screens. Do I have to work with only one screen at a time?

Right now, these screens are a total mess. I have screens that are blank, screens with one icon, screens loaded with icons?I really need help organizing them.

Here's the last question:

3. When I press the icon at the bottom that has a circle with six squares in it, the screen with all my apps appears. There are actually a few screens full of apps. Is there a way to organize THESE screens? When I press and hold an icon in one of THESE screens, it ends up in a HOME screen. It remains in the APPS screen, but a duplicate is made in one of the screens I'm trying to organize.

I'm not sure if I explained that very well.