Did I just make a huge mistake? N7 Google Play for US only?

ellykay

Nov 21, 2012
Visit site
I'm a Canadian resident visiting family in the US and I purchased a Nexus 7 today. Set it up, surfing wifi just great. Love everything about it. Tried to redeem a Google Play gift card and pop-up msg. says it is not valid in my country. (I'm still in US, but my Google account was set up in Canada). I really wanted to use my N7 for books, but the Google Wallet is for US residents with US credit cards only. I have this sick, sinking feeling that I will not be able to purchase anything for my tablet. I have a Canadian Galaxy II phone for which I have purchased apps from Google Play, but it shows a very limited selection of books - mostly reference and children's books - in the app store.
Does anyone know if the Canadian Nexus 7 features are so different from the US that I can not make this work?
What are my chances of returning it to the store?

Live2ride883

Feb 13, 2011
Visit site
You should be well within the stores return period, but there may be a restocking fee. If so explain the situation to the store manager since they can over ride that fee. Personally I would return it, and buy another one when you go back to Canada. Better safe than sorry in this situation.

ChromeJob

Dec 16, 2011
Visit site