Android newbie having Nexus 7 wifi authentication problems

Heidi Dugan

Jan 9, 2013
Visit site
I'm new to Android devices, so I'm hoping I'm just missing something simple ...

My Nexus 7 tablet connected just fine to my unsecured home wifi as well as to the secured wifi at a vacation home over the holidays with the supplied password. Unfortunately I have no details about that network at my disposal.

Recently I've tried to connect to a friend's Comcast cable modem wifi and to my local community theatre's secured wifi. Both are wpa/wpa2 psk secured and I've double-checked the passwords multiple times. Both don't connect. The tablet either says "authenticating" seemingly forever until I give up manually, or sometimes eventually says "authentication problem." I have forgotten and tried again numerous times with both networks. I have shut down and restarted the tablet. I don't have router/network access to these, so I'm hoping there's more things I can try with my device in order to connect.

Again, I'm moderately tech savvy, but very clueless about Android capabilities, settings, etc. So, please talk to me like I'm stupid and be as detailed as possible. :)

--Heidi

MarkCNY

Jan 16, 2013
Visit site
I'm experiencing the same problem, with only one of my (4) Access Points here at home ( that one is a Linksys WAP54G) . It gets quick wireless connection on the Apple Airport Express, Aruba RAP-3, and the Linksys WRT160Nv3 router. When I try to force it to the AP in my office it gets stuck in "authenticating" until it times out and backs off to a farther-away AP. The others are secured using WPA2, while the WAP54G is suitably old enough to only have WPA....I've been through the settings several times, but no changes. Including upgrading the firmware on the WAP54G...... Any Ideas?

jerrykur

Sep 30, 2010
Visit site
A few things to try.

Be sure you are entering the password correctly. Password are case sensitive.