What can brick an unrooted Nexus 7?

Torsten Uhlmann

Jan 18, 2013
Visit site
Hi,

today after a restart my 2 week old Nexus 7 won't boot past the shiny X symbol.
I tried a hard reset and ended up with a screen that just showed the 3 control symbols at the bottom as well as the battery symbol alternating with the time at the top bar.

I finally got it to work again by freshly installing the Nexus 7 image via: How to Hard Reset a Bricked Nexus 7 With Your PC - TheUnlockrTheUnlockr

Now, I didn't root the device and didn't do anything hackish. So I wonder, is that a common problem of the Nexus 7, does it happen to other Android devices- without messing with the system?

My confidence in the Nexus is somewhat shaken right now as this came not as a result of pushing the wrong buttons.

Can installed applications like Locale or SwiftKey 4 beta do this to the device? I don't think so. Anyway, I'm pretty new to Android so I'm sure you know tons more than I do.

I just want to circumvent such a situation in the future.

Thanks,
Torsten.

wunderbar

Dec 11, 2010
Visit site
It could have just been a bad image out of the factory that eventually just broke. It's really hard to say exactly what it was that screwed it up. It is rare, but remember these devices are essentially fully functioning computers. Sometimes things go sideways. Heck there's an iPad 2 sitting on my desk at work right now, I had to restore it from backup once as I picked it up and went to turn it on and it had cratered. stuff happens.

kurosenpai

May 22, 2012
Visit site
My old iPhone 3Gs did the same thing. Suddenly stuck at the apple logo.so did my old xperia x8, rooted and working perfectly then suddenly a few Weeks later stuck at Sony logo. Guess stuff happens.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2

zkSharks

Retired Moderator
Mar 15, 2011
Visit site
My confidence in the Nexus is somewhat shaken right now as this came not as a result of pushing the wrong buttons.