I am seriously ticked off at Google for basically "bricking" my Nexus 7!

SiberianKhatru59

Mar 11, 2015
Visit site
So a while back, I had a perfectly good, nicely running Nexus 7 (2012) and I was very happy with it. Then, I accepted an offer on my Nexus to "upgrade" to Android 5, which I foolishly took. This so-called upgrade has basically rendered my perfectly useable tablet into a psychotic machine with a will of it's own that seeming gets it's arse kicked by various random web pages which in turn causes it to be USELESS until I reboot the damn thing. Applications that once ran fine and dandy now refuse to run at all and (like Chrome) lock my once beloved Nexus up tighter than a school marm at church.

Now, I am a SQL Server admin and web programmer (and former client-server application engineer) by trade, so I CAN get into the weeds on my Nexus but on my time after work, I just wanted to use it -- not be forced to rebuild it! Yes, I've restored factory defaults and rebuilt from scratch and yes, I've deleted system cache umpteen times -- all in futility as my Nexus now sneers at me instead of making me smile.

So now after years of preaching the virtues of the Google-Android ecosystem to my Apple-centric friends and family, I am forced to either undertake an Android developer style rebuild effort to restore Kit-Kat 4.4.4, or spend BIG $$$ on a Nexus 9 and hope Google doesn't back-door me yet again down the road, or worse - chuck the whole friggin' she-bang for (gasp!) what I once considered an inferior iPad iOS8 device on principal alone.

Damn am I ever pissed off, mostly because Google simple won't own up to their own folly and offer the many people like me who got screwed an elegant way back to Kit-Kat 4.4.4 -- without having to learn Android coding techniques in their precious spare time.

:mad:
/rant

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site