Nexus 7: Is this normal battery usage?

FlyHighGuy

Jan 22, 2014
Visit site
Hey guys

I'm new to android (and modern technology in general really), so I apologise in advance if this is a stupid question, but is this battery usage normal?

Screen - 27%
Tablet idle - 21%
Android system - 12%
Chrome - 10%
Media server - 6%
Android OS - 5%
Three processes related to chrome - 10%
Com.android.systemui - 2%

What is this mysterious media server? Why is tablet idle so high? And why does chrome and it's processes refuse to stop using battery even after I close out of it completely?

Thanks a lot again, hopefully this question isn't too insufferable.

Last edited by a moderator:

UJ95x

Retired Ambassador
Aug 26, 2013
Visit site
Re: Is this normal battery usage?

Hey guys

I'm new to android (and modern technology in general really), so I apologise in advance if this is a stupid question, but is this battery usage normal?

Screen - 27%
Tablet idle - 21%
Android system - 12%
Chrome - 10%
Media server - 6%
Android OS - 5%
Three processes related to chrome - 10%
Com.android.systemui - 2%

What is this mysterious media server? Why is tablet idle so high? And why does chrome and it's processes refuse to stop using battery even after I close out of it completely?

Thanks a lot again, hopefully this question isn't too insufferable.
Welcome to Android Central :)
We're going to need more info. You can upload screenshots from your battery stats. Show how long each of these is running and maybe we can be of more help

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to the forums.
Based on what you typed, that doesn't seem that bad.
Does it sit idle? If yes, then that will explain the high OS usage. Media server is a general category for simple things like downloads from Play.

I do agree with UJ95x. I would also like to see a screen shot of your battery stats and the graph, please.

From a Sprint Moto X using AC Forums app

FlyHighGuy

Jan 22, 2014
Visit site