I'm just about ready to ditch my N9

anon(5564484)

Jan 8, 2013
Visit site
Let me start by saying I loved my N9 until the October security update and the Nougat update. There are so many of you that are way better versed than I am about this piece of equipment. I'm an average tech savvy older citizen (ok, I'm 64) that is seeking fixes for two issues that appear to not be unique to me. Screen freeze...even when shutting down my N9 freezes more than occasionally...and serious screen lag. Also, my tablet runs really hot and the battery runs down relatively quickly even when I've shut down apps running in the background. Needless to say, but I'll say it anyway, a wipe is something I really don't want to do.

Since our friends at Google don't seem to want to fix these issues with the N9, especially the screen freeze (Do any of you know if they've abandoned ongoing support of this tablet other than security updates?), are there any recommendations as to what a layman can do?

Much thanks in advance.

aokusman

May 17, 2013
Visit site
I put mine for sale on swappa. I replaced it with a used 16gb iPad air 2 and have no regrets. I will never purchase an HTC product again. Never.

rhea

Aug 2, 2011
Visit site
Did you do a wipe before nougat (or after)? I've experienced the behaviors you described since a month after getting my N9. I still do a wipe/factory reset about every 6-8 weeks when it begins to lag, freeze, and spontaneously reboot. What apps are using the most battery? Chrome has always created the most heat on mine especially around the camera. I do think it's been running hotter on 7. 1.1 as the display is also heating up. Early on, posters suggested facebook was causing issues so I uninstalled that and never ran it again.

anon(5564484)

Jan 8, 2013
Visit site