Yet another Sense ROM question/problem

anon(20649)

May 6, 2010
Visit site
I know, I know, everyone is probably getting sick of us noobs with these ROM questions and problems. I have looked on the tutorials, Youtube video's, and the more I read the more I am confused. I am a noob to Android, just started using Linux not long ago (Many different distros).
I have this problem with my Nexus One. I purchased a used Nexus One on Ebay. It was rooted with Sense. So far I like the Sense UI, It is very nice in its lay out. I believe the guy who did it done it right, almost all functions work. I soon found out after purchasing the phone that the Sense UI has bluetooth issues. I have a Ford Fusion with Sync and a Jawbone Prime and now this does work, that was a bummer. Never the less, I wanted to make a go with this phone. One issue that you don't read about is when I have a second call coming in I get a high pitch, low volume screech that goes right through you. So, I still currently have my iPhone 3gs and using it now until I get some of these issues fixed. I can live without the Bluetooth. I rather not but, that will be a option that I can live with for now. I don't want to live with the Screeching noise.
So, now I will summarize:
1)I have an Nexus One AT&T 3G version Android 2.1
2)It has MoDaCo custom Rom Desire Port r21, ssh
3)Build number: Passion-user 2.1-update1 ERE27 24178 release-keys
I would like to keep this phone with the Sense UI if I can get the second call ring to work, if not I would like to go back to the original ROM or if someone has a better suggestion let me know.
Now, what I don't understand:
It is rooted and when I go to the help sites they tell you to unlock it. Even those that have similar problems like mine that is already rooted. Also, it says that you must install the recovery image. I wouldn't think that I have to do those steps? Also, one wrote:Copy recovery-RA-nexus-v1.7.0.img to a location where fastboot can find it. On the SD card?