1. AndroidAmigo's Avatar
    I've backed up all my photos to the cloud, now l want to delete them from the phone except one album, how do l go about it?

    I've tried to find this option on Google photos, but no, l've tried to even find the managing storage option on the app, but again no!?
    10-18-2021 04:40 PM
  2. SpookDroid's Avatar
    Which phone are you using? If you do it from Google Photos, this will delete the pictures from all linked devices (it'll warn you about it)! If you have your pictures backed up you should be able to delete them locally from either the Gallery app (unless you have a Google phone and they replaced that app with Photos...not sure) or by using a file manager (either a built-in one like Samsung's "My Files" or a 3rd party option).
    10-18-2021 06:08 PM
  3. B. Diddy's Avatar
    Welcome to Android Central! Probably the easiest way to approach this would be to first use the Free Up Space option in Google Photos, which will delete all locally saved photos that Google Photos knows is are already backed up to the cloud. Then you can go to that album you want to have locally saved, and redownload those photos.

    You can always delete individual photos from local storage while keeping them saved to your cloud -- the trick is not to tap the garbage can icon, but instead tap the menu button (when viewing a photo), then select Delete From Device. But doing that for all of your photos would be pretty tedious, so go with the first thing I suggested above.
    10-20-2021 12:12 AM
  4. Mbun2's Avatar
    I'm trying to delete, also. I'm using Samsung Gallery app, not Google Photos. There's no prompt to delete from device, just the trash icon. Does deleting the photos also delete from the synced Onedrive? If I turn the sync off, delete photos, & turn sync on again, will Onedrive delete them?
    10-20-2021 12:38 PM
  5. SpookDroid's Avatar
    IF they are already backed up to Photos or OneDrive, using the Trash option on your phone's Gallery app does delete the local copy only (it actually sends it to a 30-day limbo in case you want to restore it, but that's a separate conversation). If you use Photos, however, deleting the copy from there will also delete the backed up copy and any other synced version on other devices. Not sure how OneDrive behaves, but I'd assume it's similar to using Photos directly.
    10-20-2021 12:46 PM

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-19-2021, 11:19 PM
  2. Why do I get ring tone when I get voice messages
    By Android Central Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-2021, 09:52 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-17-2021, 03:55 PM
  4. Samsung notes list accidentally deleted
    By Android Central Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-17-2021, 10:23 AM
  5. Why does my phone go crazy when enabling mobile data?
    By Android Central Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-14-2021, 08:29 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD