Pixel 2 camera: massive disappointment

DesertTwang

Nov 7, 2017
Visit site
OK, I realize that I seem to be only person out there who seems to have this issue, and that's why I'm looking for answers. I love everything about the Google Pixel 2 and am very happy I made the decision to switch to Android (coming from an iPhone).

That said, I can't believe why the Pixel 2's camera has received so much praise, because it has yet to produce a photo I consider adequate. I'm not a pro photographer, but I'm not a doofus either. I'm a hobby photog who knows his way around apertures, exposure times and composition. I know enough to use my dSLR exclusively in manual mode and get the results I want.

Last weekend, I took photos with my Pixel 2 on a backpacking trip. They looked decent on the screen, and I was excited to show them to my wife (who wasn't able to join me on the trip) by casting them onto my smart TV. The results were such that I didn't bother to show the shots to my wife. The colors were drab, the resolution awful - reducing the stark, beautiful landscape of the Arizona desert to pixelated mush.

yesterday, I compared the Pixel to my old iPhone 6 Plus by taking a macro shot of a beetle. The attached photos speak for themselves, I think. The iPhone kills the Pixel, no contest. Both photos were taken at the same time, from the same angle and not edited in any way.

Upper image (portrait) is Pixel 2: no depth of field, colors cold and harsh, contrast too hard, lack of sharpness. Lower image (square) is iPhone: nice depth of field, warm, realistic colors, good detail and sharpness.

So, given that everybody seems to think the Pixel 2 camera is the best of any smartphone, I'm wondering if I'm missing something. Does this camera need to be set up in any way, or calibrated, or does it need some kind of software tweaks to produce the results it is being hyped for?

Fig beetle Pixel.jpg

Attachments

• Fig beetle iPhone.jpg
    Fig beetle iPhone.jpg