Debating between the Pixelbook and Surface Pro (2017)

technutcounselor

Apr 19, 2018
Visit site
I need help making up my mind. The Surface Pro is on sale at Best Buy for $799 and the Pixelbook is $848 on Amazon right now (i5, 128 GB version). I will mainly use it for work. I am a therapist, have a private practice and most of my stuff is web based, although I use Office for documents, presentations and spreadsheets. I've been a MacBook Pro user for years and this would be the final break from Apple since I have an Android phone now. I realized how much I was paying for the MacBook and how little I was using the features. Will not having a full laptop limit me or is the Pixelbook and Chrome OS fully able to replace a laptop ? I read an article that says Consumer Reports is no longer recommending the Surface Pros or Microsoft devices. I just want to make sure I'm not going to be left wanting.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
The question of a Chromebook being able to fully replace a conventional laptop really boils down to if you need something that's only available as an installed program, and doesn't have an online or Android app counterpart. If you subscribe to Office 365, then you should be fine with the online version or the Android app version (although I'm not sure if the installed Office suite might have more bells and whistles than the online version).

Nauga

Nov 9, 2017
Visit site
I read an article that says Consumer Reports is no longer recommending the Surface Pros or Microsoft devices. I just want to make sure I'm not going to be left wanting.