Galaxy Nexus and poor signal

cardula

Oct 25, 2011
Visit site
I've had my GNex for about a month and a half now. I'm on Virgin Canada. It's my first Android phone and my second smart phone. (went from an old Blackberry Curve 8330) My area is known for having poor reception but just enough to make/receive calls and texts fairly reliably. Since I'm new to Android, I jumped in head first without doing much homework, I just assumed that a flagship ICS device would have a similar radio to older phones, boy was I ever wrong.

When I'm at home, my phone reports anywhere between 25-75% of the uptime with no signal. It varies from day-to-day. I can simply never make/receive calls reliably with it; however, texting is usually okay, tho it complains about not being able to send texts from time to time. Luckily, call forwarding is included with my plan so whenever someone tries to call me it goes straight to the land line here, plus I can make calls using Skype using my wi-fi. When I'm out, I rarely get a signal above -113 dBm unless I'm in certain areas or in a city. I'm pretty sure there's nothing wrong with my radio because I get around -70 dBm at work and my 3G is faster than their wi-fi.

I want to keep the phone and I can handle the bad signal at home as I have call forwarding and skype to fall back onto, also I've been considering purchasing a signal booster. So here are my questions:

Is there any way to boost the radio performance on the phone? I've read a bit about different basebands and custom roms over on XDA, and I'm a bit overwhelmed. Despite being new to Android, I'm quite technically inclined and want to learn more. Could installing a custom 4.03 rom or yakju google build then a different baseband increase the power of the radio?