Question about T-Mobile data speeds with the GN

drewsg

Jan 12, 2010
Visit site
Is there a big difference between 21Mbps and 42Mbps phones other than theoretical top speed? Right now, I just switched to T-Mobile and got the Galaxy S2 which gets me around 6-7Mbps around town. If I trade in and get the Nexus, will speeds be any slower or will speeds be around the same since it's only works on T-Mobile's 21Mbps HSPA network..

This is pretty weird for me, I've always been with either Verizon or Sprint, so I'm new to the whole SIM card thing and GSM networks..

Jerry Hildenbrand

Space Cowboy
Staff member
Oct 11, 2009
Visit site
Re: Question about using this phone on T-Mobile

There's something different, but I'm not sure what lol.

If I drop my SIM card in my SGSII, I get about 10-11M/s download speed.
In the very same spot, I get about 7M/s with my G Nex.
I am NOT in a 21 or 42 network, my area is only rated at 14.4.

What any of that means, I duuno. In the end, you can't tell much of a difference between them, and in fact the G Nex with Chrome seems faster on the web than the SGSII with the stock Samsung browser.

rizzman

Mar 25, 2011
Visit site

Personally I would forgo a bit of speed for a pure android experience. But that is just me.

Andrew Martonik

Aug 12, 2011
Visit site

Is there a big difference between 21Mbps and 42Mbps phones other than theoretical top speed? Right now, I just switched to T-Mobile and got the Galaxy S2 which gets me around 6-7Mbps around town. If I trade in and get the Nexus, will speeds be any slower or will speeds be around the same since it's only works on T-Mobile's 21Mbps HSPA network..

This is pretty weird for me, I've always been with either Verizon or Sprint, so I'm new to the whole SIM card thing and GSM networks..