02-22-2013 09:55 AM
44 12
tools
    I'm new to the Android world and I've narrowed down my choices to the Nexus and S3.

I'm feeling really partial to the Nexus because it's the barebones of ICS and looks and feels nice to use. But the S3 just came out and I see the forums going ga-ga over it.

You guys seeing any pros of your Nexus' over the new guy? Am I a fool to not go for the S3?

I'm aware of the differences in terms of specs. But other aspects, I may not understand. (Rooting, future updates, battery life, repair costs, etc.)

I was considering heading out to Rogers today and making the jump from BlackBerry, but this 50/50 decision has me dead in my tracks.
    06-23-2012 08:01 AM
    I don't have S3 envy. While it's obviously a better phone spec-wise, I still think the Nexus is a better bargain for an unlocked phone.

Mainly because none of the main improvements on the S3 are big deals for me. While nice, I don't personally need the best camera on the market or an SD card slot. Performance on the nexus is good enough for me that whatever improvement the S3 has in that regard isn't really enough to make me want it.

I'd choose Nexus again today when factoring in ICS unblemished (no carrier crapware) and don't have to root it in order to get newer versions of android when they come out.

I'm not a power user though and my last phone was a measly feature phone. But no buyer's remorse here.
    moosc and knightfall like this.
    06-23-2012 08:21 AM
    Nexus any day over s3. The home button on the s3 screams Apple rip off. That and I don't like the color choices. I don't want a white or blue phone and if I do I will get a case.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Android Central Forums
    knightfall likes this.
    06-23-2012 08:23 AM
    Thanks for the quick responses guys.

Are all GN phones unlocked? I'm in Canada and will be going through Rogers. Is going that route hold any negatives?
    06-23-2012 09:17 AM