SIM Card Process for T-Mobile

xlnja

Jun 7, 2010
Visit site
I am new to the whole SIM-card thing since I have always been on either Verizon or Sprint. I just bought the Galaxy Nexus and want to start a pre-paid plan with T-Mobile. I understand I need to buy a SIM card, but I also want to port my number from Sprint. The T-Mobile chat rep says I should buy the SIM card online (since it's on sale for $.99 right now) and then call Customer Service later to have the number ported. Does this sound correct? I had another person tell me that I need to go into the store, have them create a contract account to port the number and then change it to pre-paid. Does anyone know what the best process is?

vor

May 26, 2010
Visit site
Everything I've read is activate online (especially if you are doing the $30 prepaid 5GB one) then call up port your number once it's activated. I activated mine online without issue and had HSPA+ working within an hour. Now that I know I get great TMO coverage in my metro I am going to port my number at the end of the month when my VZW contract expires :D and count my :-$

iopepper

Jul 10, 2012
Visit site
Hi, VOR
You message very helpful. My google nexus gonna be delivered tonight. I am thinking to get tmobile 30 bucks plan. So you can get it from tmobile's website by chatting with one of their representatives, right? So the Representative will walk you through on how to set the web like APN ect? I am totally new to the android world. Just dick my iphone.

So the UPS guy just drive by my home. I gotta catch the guy.

thanks

sting7k

Jun 10, 2010
Visit site