How do I downgrade from EMUI 5.0 on Honor 8? I just received the update and can't stand it.

A

AC Question

Please help me downgrade my phone. I really wouldn't have purchased this phone a couple months ago if I knew it was going to look like this. I hate EMUI 5.0. I respect that others like it but please just help me get my phone back.

digitalbreak

Trusted Member
Jun 13, 2013
Visit site
If you have FDR-L04 which is the 32gb version, then you can from their site.

If you have FDR-L14, Honor doesn't have the firmware in their site. Please talk to the support.

coocoobean

Feb 17, 2017
Visit site
Thank you so much as I have found the link to 4.1 on their support site. I am a noob to this though. I am downloading the 1.6gb package right now to my chromebook, but how do I go about applying that to my phone?

coocoobean

Feb 17, 2017
Visit site
I didn't like the look of the notification icons in the top right in addition look of the notification shade. Everything seems to have changed in a way that looks foreign and horrifying for me but I am very sensitive to changes.

Niloc57

Mar 2, 2017
Visit site
I need to go back aswell, simply because it has stopped my barclays banking apps from working, can you easily do this just using the phone

libra89

Jan 29, 2016
Visit site
I need to go back aswell, simply because it has stopped my barclays banking apps from working, can you easily do this just using the phone

It's possible but I would proceed with caution if I was you. Trying to do that with the US 32gb model broke my phone but fortunately Huawei/Honor is fixing it.

So your mileage may vary, good luck either way.

AimD

Mar 5, 2017
Visit site
I can't recommend trying to rollback. Here's my message from another thread: http://forums.androidcentral.com/showthread.php?t=771608&p=5699840&viewfull=1#post5699840