LTE in Las Vegas and LA

Hurleygm

Jun 23, 2010
Visit site
I was at the Sprint store yesterday to get my wife an iPhone. Her decision, not mine!

I asked the rep when she thought LTE was coming to Las Vegas and she said it is difficult because a lot of people in the area, meaning the Southwest, are still using Direct Connect from Nextel to communicate with people in Mexico. She said the Direct Connect and LTE bandwidth are too spread out to be on the same tower. Therefore, Vegas would not get LTE until Q3 or Q4 of this year.

I am a novice when it comes to towers and bandwidth, so does this make sense? Has anyone heard anything related to this?

themuffinman

Apr 9, 2011
Visit site
I was at the Sprint store yesterday to get my wife an iPhone. Her decision, not mine!

I asked the rep when she thought LTE was coming to Las Vegas and she said it is difficult because a lot of people in the area, meaning the Southwest, are still using Direct Connect from Nextel to communicate with people in Mexico. She said the Direct Connect and LTE bandwidth are too spread out to be on the same tower. Therefore, Vegas would not get LTE until Q3 or Q4 of this year.

I am a novice when it comes to towers and bandwidth, so does this make sense? Has anyone heard anything related to this?

Oh young padawan, you have much to learn. Rule #1,(Generally Speaking) never ever.......ever ever ever listen to a store level sprint rep when it comes to just about anything.

Last edited:

kingjames924

Trusted Member
Sep 17, 2011
www.vegasiphoneguy.com
The Sprint rep that you talked to is (oddly enough) half right