Walmart activation question/ im a newbie, sorry

Kizzmocat

Jun 1, 2012
Visit site
I have a family plan, wifes phone due for update, want to use it for evo lte, can walmart switch my phone# to the evo lte and put my wifes# on my og evo? Or do I have to go to sprint for that? Thanks in advance for any replies!

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
To my knowledge (anyone correct me if wrong..) Sprint or any carrier for that matter will not swap out the phone numbers so you can grab that upgrade from someone else on your account. I'm sure some have possibly succeeded at this from time to time but its not normal policy to move numbers around to accommodate our thirst for using an available upgrade to get that phone we want so bad.

Little better explanation, I've heard of some people getting the upgrade on say the spouse's account and then having the carrier swap it a day later but its not normal practice and I wouldn't bank on it unless you hear differently.

Kizzmocat

Jun 1, 2012
Visit site
I did ask the sprint guy in the online chat about this and he said it would be fine, I wasn't aware of any problems with this, now I feel my bubble beginning to burst! Lol, I was only asking if walmart could do it in lieu of going to a sprint store, now I'm re thinking my options! Thanks for the reply though paul

skoolboi

May 28, 2012
Visit site
no one .. sprint or 3rd party will give you or let you use someone else's upgrade on their line the option that people have been going with is upgrading the line that is due and like Paul627g said and just swapping phones/numbers between the two lines a few days later.. I have done this without issue in the past, but beware it doesnt mean it works for everyone. If going through a 3rd party retailer its good to read their fine print on new activations some .. like wirefly charge fees if the phone is removed i.e swapped or the contract/plan is changed within a certain period of time..

Kizzmocat

Jun 1, 2012
Visit site