[How to] Rooting HTC EVO Froyo 2.2 (Windows)

Jerzyiroc

May 19, 2010
Visit site
no worries, i give you props for trying to root using this method without knowing what a nandroid backup is.

It makes an exact image back up of your phone. So if you were to restore it it will return your phone to that point in time, restoring all of your apps, data, ect.

:\ I'm a noob with this rooting and custom ROM stuff. Is this something that a someone with no experience with rooting shouldn't be getting into?

d3xn2o

Apr 20, 2010
Visit site
:\ I'm a noob with this rooting and custom ROM stuff. Is this something that a someone with no experience with rooting shouldn't be getting into?

Depends how persistent you are and how bad you want Root... but its not that bad... I went thru alot worse...

Alterationx10

Aug 27, 2010
Visit site
Greetings everyone. I'd just like to mention that I applied the root method today and it went fine. However, upon flashing the "Stock" rooted 2.2 Froyo OTA ROM from the XDA thread mentioned earlier, my phone went into an infinite boot loop of the Sprint/4G start-up. I did a factory-reset from the Android bootloader menu ("clear data" was the option, I believe), and then it worked on the next boot. Just thought I'd mention it here in case someone else ran into that problem.

Ky1e.YC

May 14, 2010
Visit site
Sweet, anyone had it tried?

Nv mind, too excited to finish the whole thread. I will root my 2.2 soon. FINALLY....

Last edited:

UTnick

Mar 25, 2010
Visit site
Greetings everyone. I'd just like to mention that I applied the root method today and it went fine. However, upon flashing the "Stock" rooted 2.2 Froyo OTA ROM from the XDA thread mentioned earlier, my phone went into an infinite boot loop of the Sprint/4G start-up. I did a factory-reset from the Android bootloader menu ("clear data" was the option, I believe), and then it worked on the next boot. Just thought I'd mention it here in case someone else ran into that problem.