[How to] Rooting HTC EVO Froyo 2.2 (Windows)

johnday23

Mar 12, 2010
Visit site
Very excited Newbie here just got my Evo and gave up my Blackberry. Now I want to root but when i try to push the files to my phone I keep getting an error.

* Daemon not running. starting it now *
ADB server didn't ACK
* failed to start daemon *
error: cannot connect to daemon

any help please i moved the files to the SD card but not sure of how to access the phone except through push.

Please help thanks

bluediablito

Jun 15, 2010
Visit site
hey Luce
Thank you for the quick reply..............i dont mind if you are able to answer it.

for any one who many know the answer
i hope you dont mind if i ask you a question
my question.....
i have clockwork as my recovery (loving the clockwork since it reminds me of my old psp mods) i notice that i am able to erase everything of the sd and restore the phone to factory settings and the clockwork is still there. i also download rom manager free to start adding a stock rom and then do a full nandroid backup of froyo 2.2.

so rom manager is so post to be link to clockwork.
-what is flash clockworkmod recovery? (b.c i get an error "privileged commands)
-will rom mannager reconize that i have clockwork (flash with simple root)
-how would i wipe to flash a rom?

Jerzyiroc

May 19, 2010
Visit site
IT WORKED FLAWLESSLY!!!! WOOOOTT!!!!!!

Now I have to actually root. I've heard nothing but bad things about unrevoked so I'm gonna use simple root. But what exactly do I do first? I'm gonna put the suggested stock 2.2 ROM and back it up. I just don't know what I have to do.

Last edited:

Luce

Jul 8, 2010
Visit site
so rom manager is so post to be link to clockwork.
-what is flash clockworkmod recovery? (b.c i get an error "privileged commands)
-will rom mannager reconize that i have clockwork (flash with simple root)
-how would i wipe to flash a rom?