Please recommend a ROM to me

DaveNagy

Aug 5, 2010
Visit site
Hi all,

Do you know what comes before newbies? Me! :p I'm hoping to pick up my Evo on Oct 1st, and only then will I graduate to full newbie status. :) I have been reading the forums, however, so I'm only about 60% clueless at this point.

Bright and early on Oct 2nd, I will be jetting off to Hawaii. Some time in the preceding 13 hours, I'd like to have rooted my phone, and have flashed a custom ROM. You see, I "need" wireless tethering to work during my vacation, and I would welcome more speed and battery life as well. What I don't want are crashes and other things that will harsh my vacation mellow. I test software for a living. I'd prefer not to do it in Hawaii. :cool:

So, which ROM should I take with me? Here's my wish list:
  1. I think I'd prefer to start with a Sense ROM. I'll wait til I get back before messing around with replacement launchers and the like.
  2. It needs to be solid and non-crashy. A daily-driver class ROM. Less crashy than stock 2.2 would be nice.
  3. I'd like the FPS cap to be removed. (Which I guess excludes the AC ROM, unless someone can recommend an alternate kernel to layer on top.)
  4. More battery life would be nice, but not an absolute necessity. I'm taking three batteries and an external charger with me.
  5. More performance would be nice, but again, not an absolute requirement. I won't be benchmarking at the beach.
  6. I don't care if 4G, FM, and HDMI don't work, so if someone wants to talk me into CM, I'll listen.

b0ricua

May 24, 2010
Visit site
BAKED SNACK 1.7!!!

-I think I'd prefer to start with a Sense ROM. I'll wait til I get back before messing around with replacement launchers and the like. Baked Snack has all of the Sense goodness (I can't give it up either)
-It needs to be solid and non-crashy. A daily-driver class ROM. Less crashy than stock 2.2 would be nice.