unrEVOked. The good, the bad, the ugly

Status
Not open for further replies.

truslide

Aug 25, 2010
Visit site
Senior Members VOTE NOW! (lol)

This is for you if...
1. You have not rooted your phone and are considering root, using the unrEVOked3 method.
2. You have rooted your phone with unrEVOked3, and notice that... something just ISN'Tright
3. You have rooted with unrEVOked3 and you THINK everything is alright up to now.

This is my experience with unrEVOked3.
I've never rooted, jailbroken, or hacked anything. I'm not a programmer, bottom line, but I am a fast learner and I can understand things with a good hands on explanation. Very good with mechanics! For example, if there is an explanation of what I'm doing, while I'm doing it, then I'M LEARNING IT.
With unrEVOked3, this is not the case. Everything is done behind a curtain, so you as the uneducated user are totally in the dark. EVEN IF YOU'VE USED SEARCH AND "READ READ READ", it's worthless. It's like reading a recipe and going to the store to buy it and eat it. Make sense?
Well, I was about to go on a cross country road trip because I got reassigned in the military. I wanted to root my phone so I had WiFi and could use my computer while on the road (and let me tell you what it was a life saver). I rooted with unrEVOked3, and that was it. I downloaded some apps that required root (ROM Manager, Root Explorer, Titanium Backup) and I was off.

I performed a backup with Titanium Backup, downloaded WiFi tether, and thought I was golden.