HOW TO: Stay stock and get rid of the bloat

LikeAChampion3

May 17, 2010
Visit site
For those of you who want to stay "stock" but also want to get rid of the bloatware, I have the solution and will post the process. Obviously this is done at your own risk, so I am not responsible for your breaking anything on your phone. Full disclosure: I am new to this and I am sure some of the more experienced people on the forum can add to this or correct any mistakes I made. Please proceed with caution.

I upgraded to the newest HTC update today (12/17) and wasn't happy about the Nova demo or the fact that Blockbuster kept popping up in my notification area. Amazon MP3 has always pissed me off because of the updates and I always see it running and presumably wasting resources. I was this close to rooting and flashing a custom rom, but I got intimidated by all of the different methods out there and decided against it. All I really wanted to do was get rid of the few apps on my phone that I didn't want. I run Launcher Pro Plus and have all of the customization that I think I need.

Anyway, after doing research and getting some help from the other members, I was able to put this little procedure in place in order to remove those annoying bloat apps one at a time:

Prep
1. Download z4root (not in the market, do a google search)
2. Download Titanium Backup (Market)
3. Do a Google search on which apps you can safely remove, I'll list the ones I did below.
4. Plan to sit around for a while as each app takes a few minutes to get rid of since you have to reboot the phone after each one gets deleted.
5. Backup your apps. Do a NAND backup for everything if you know how, otherwise use Titanium or an alternative method/app. This is very important!
5.a. Read the thread first so you know what to expect and what others have been doing.
Process