Running Evervolv Gingerbread ROM

jnl813

Jun 21, 2010
Visit site
I am running the latest ( not stable ) Evokings Rom using Evervolv GB 2.3, although i came across one problem... everything works ( except 4G and camcorder ) but when I tried to access Wifi, I get no connection. I was told to simple switch to another Kernel to get this to work. This is where I am stuck, how the heck do I replace the kernel? I installed and have installed ROM through my phone so dont tell me this cant be done. How in the heck do i flash a different kernel? do I go into recovery mode? Please help and sorry I am still kind of new to this...

2CupsWithString

passionately curious
Jun 1, 2010
Visit site
Hey Jesse, you flash a kernel by going in to recovery and installing zip from the sd card. Just like a rom except you don't wipe everything first.

jnl813

Jun 21, 2010
Visit site
So by me flashing that kernel it automatically replaces the other one? And once i install it, do i simply reboot?

d3xn2o

Apr 20, 2010
Visit site
Flashing a Kernel is Much the same as Flashing a Rom... Just dont Wipe Data... Then ur screwed...

But yes if you flash a Kernel it replaces the one on there...

jnl813

Jun 21, 2010
Visit site
ok so I went to Rom MAnager, chose recovery Mode, found the kernel, installed...now the phone is doing its thing.. now it says done, do I just go back now and chose reboot system now?

jnl813

Jun 21, 2010
Visit site
Hey D3X i was using MYn warm 2.2 before but left that and CM6.1 due to me having to reconnect wifi by turning it off and on or else it wouldnt recongnize my network, is there something you can suggest? I loved those ROMS but I use Wifi A LOT so I gave up on that, it got annoying.

ChadH42

Jul 19, 2010
Visit site
so flashing the kernel is exactly the same as flashing the ROM but simply a different file name & don't wipe data??

2CupsWithString

passionately curious
Jun 1, 2010
Visit site