Rooting Evo on Mac

bdotcampbell

Mar 5, 2011
Visit site
I want to root my Evo on my Mac, I just have a 2 questions first.

Does anyone have step by step directions on how to root my phone?

Once rooted am I able to unroot if something goes wrong or I don't like it?

Appreciate all the help!!! :)

Airwolf79

Jan 14, 2011
Visit site
I used z4 first to create a backup (nandroid). Then I rooted with Unrevoked 3. It's basically a one click root. I am a super noob though, so I'm still trying to figure out how to flash roms. I'm a little skeptical using Unrevoked though because it just seems too easy, especially after seeing all the steps you have to go through in other methods using Windows. Can a veteran shed some light on this subject? Are there better or more reliable ways to root using a mac?

madflasher

Feb 21, 2011
Visit site
yes using mac eliminates a step using unrevoked info...disregard second part of step 2 (if using MAC). it is that easy.

follow directions exactly all should go well, if so be ready to do some flashing.

check back in forums for more questions there are a lot of folks willing to help.

also disregard the dates unrevoked has been updated to work on current models.

Airwolf79

Jan 14, 2011
Visit site
Cool. I did successfully flash a rom manually, but I wasn't able to do it using rom manager. In clockwork it just kept saying file not found. Any tips on that?

Sent from my EVO using ~Tapatalk~

madflasher

Feb 21, 2011
Visit site
Cool. I did successfully flash a rom manually, but I wasn't able to do it using rom manager. In clockwork it just kept saying file not found. Any tips on that?

Sent from my EVO using ~Tapatalk~

clockwork? how did you download the zip of rom from a computer then transfer to root of card or directly from phone?

if from comp the file u transfer must be zipped (unopened) if on mac check trash can.