In what language are most Android apps coded?

MannyZ28

Apr 18, 2010
Visit site
Since I am completely new to the Android universe, and coming from the Pre world where most apps are laggy and programmed in web languages, what am I going to see once I get the Evo? Are apps programmed in java and other web languages as well, or does the SDK for Android provide for C++ apps?

Its really funny, just now that the Pre will soon get PDK apps, I am about ready to switch to Android, hopefully it won't be ugly apps all over again!

Scincidae

Apr 22, 2010
Visit site
Everything I have seen is in Java, which is nice because my college classes were all in Java (though Java is not my favorite language). You can download the SDK free from Google and you can run the apps in the emulator before you get an Android phone.

Scincidae

Apr 22, 2010
Visit site
I know some of the libraries are from C/C++ but why does Java mean apps are ugly? Do you mean the code or the look of the apps? I know Java isn't the best language out there but it is the most used in the job word. (Something like 60-70% of programming jobs in the world are for Jav, that could be an old statistic but it is still the top as far as %)

MannyZ28

Apr 18, 2010
Visit site
Well, I guess I associate C++ apps with pretty looking iphone apps, and web language apps with laggy, slightly primitive looking Pre apps.

Scincidae

Apr 22, 2010
Visit site
Well, I guess I associate C++ apps with pretty looking iphone apps, and web language apps with laggy, slightly primitive looking Pre apps.

I thought most iPhone apps were Objective-C? Anyway iphone apps have built in GUI support for the iPhone style menus and such. It comes down to the programmer and whether or not they hire a designer since most programmers seem to be horrible at graphic art. Lucky for myself my major study before Computer Science happened to be art and I grew up with my father being a graphic artist.

MannyZ28

Apr 18, 2010
Visit site