Brand New Evo won't find updates OTA

Gracon

Jul 20, 2011
Visit site
Hello, my wife picked up an Evo 4G this week on a sale and has been running into issues with it. The marketplace is constantly giving database errors, and the wifi seems to drop and reconnect every few minutes too.

Looking at the software version, it seems to be running version 1.47.651.1. I did a little research, as I am new to Android too, and this seems to be the very first update version of the software...pre-Froyo.

I've tried going into the software update section and looking for updates in the Firmware and Software menus, but it just comes back saying that there are no updates to the phone. I've also tried syncing the profile and the PRL options and then checking for updates again, but no luck.

What's the best way to get the phone to update? She took it back into the Sprint store today, but they were useless and told her to just use it and keep checking back for updates. Does she have to go through some sort of waiting period before the phone will start getting updates?

Thanks for any help.

yodatom10

Mar 20, 2011
Visit site
Hello, my wife picked up an Evo 4G this week on a sale and has been running into issues with it. The marketplace is constantly giving database errors, and the wifi seems to drop and reconnect every few minutes too.

Looking at the software version, it seems to be running version 1.47.651.1. I did a little research, as I am new to Android too, and this seems to be the very first update version of the software...pre-Froyo.

I've tried going into the software update section and looking for updates in the Firmware and Software menus, but it just comes back saying that there are no updates to the phone. I've also tried syncing the profile and the PRL options and then checking for updates again, but no luck.