Orientation issues?!?!

dougE2483

May 16, 2010
Visit site
Hey guys, this is my first time posting but have been keeping up for a while. I was just wondering if anyone else is having an issue with the EVO changing orientation on you when you rotate the phone?

Me and one of my co-works both have the phone and mine is having no problems at all, and the other one isn't switching the orientation during messages or phone pages or anything, and the only difference between the two phones is the other one has a screen protector on the phone, so i am guessing that a screen protector might be causing some sort of issue with the orientation flipping, is this possible you think?

And yes both phones have the orientation option in "sound & display" checked.

dougE2483

May 16, 2010
Visit site
Also sorry ahead of time for the ?!?! use to it when sending text messages, tried to edit it but don't know if i can edit the title.

alan7467

Feb 7, 2010
Visit site
Try going to settings > Sound & Display > G-Sensor calibration (all the way at the bottom), and doing a calibration.

Auzo

May 25, 2010
Visit site
Are you both turning it 90 degrees counter-clockwise? It seems that Android only supports orientation changes of 90 degrees counter-clockwise, at least for now (changing in 2.2). I am new to Android so this was a bit surprising to me.

dougE2483

May 16, 2010
Visit site
Yeah i tried the G-Sensor calibration on the phone and i have also tried turning both phones all ways. I was told that it works every now and then but when i was messing with it, it did not turn at all for me, while mine turns just fine.

dougE2483

May 16, 2010
Visit site
Also another question, with the G-Sensor calibration, you know how it tells you lay your phone flat to calibrate it but if you lay the phone flat the camera keeps it on a slight angle, you notice that?

alan7467

Feb 7, 2010
Visit site