06-09-2010 08:20 PM
33 12
tools
    I am new to Android and the Evo, but man it is really bogging down on me lately, when I first got the phone and I would bring up the phone dialer it would do it so fast, now its lagging. Screen swipes to other homescreens lag, everything is slower.

I have rebooted the phone, switched scenes to something more plain.

Anyone have any more ideas of trouble shooting steps? are there certain apps I should stay away from in the market? I do not have anything to crazy I don't think.

Thanks for suggestions!
    06-09-2010 10:57 AM
    You might try using a task killer since you are not happy with your current performance. Advanced task killer seems to have the market cornered. There's also a good one you can find in my apps on appbrain below. Try that, be careful not to kill the htc system apps. If you do usually no biggie, it will just restart sense for you.
    06-09-2010 11:01 AM
    hmm I have tried advanced task killer, it did not seem to help, I also removed it thinking it might of been causing the problem.
    06-09-2010 11:02 AM
    sounds like you have a lot of background garbage, but i cant think of anything, especially app wise that would slow you down, that ATK wouldn't take care of... Also do you have all of the latest updates installed?
    06-09-2010 11:10 AM
    I do have the latest updates installed, I am turning the device off now, its taking forever to turn off, black screen, unresponsive, but its still on..

It did a thing earlier where it booted up and restarted like 6 times straight.

Just reset the device with the stock sprint scene, 127mb of free ram, I am about to restart and see how much free ram I have with my scene.

With my default scene I have 132M after restart, this was really weird. I love android so far but I have def. have been having to restart it more than my iphone or pre
    06-09-2010 11:17 AM