Anyone have thoughts about this default GSM PRL issue mentioned here:
    change GSM auto prl to CDMA auto - Android Forums

I went into the settings, and indeed, my phone was set to GSM (auto) PRL so I followed the instructions to switch it to CDMA (auto) PRL, but wondering if this is just some text/menu bug, or whether there is really an underlying setting problem that is some major improvement/fix in the overall experience?
    06-18-2010 02:49 AM
    Well, I made the change on my phone, and I went from getting 7 - 8 hours of moderate to heavy usage to 16 - 18 hours of the same type of usage.

Other friends have done the same "tweak" and are getting much better battery life as well.
    06-18-2010 03:58 AM
    I'm a software developer and in my opinion it's just a bug causing that setting to revert back to GMS after the forced close occurs. I get the force close every time I go in there, and each time after the forced close the screen reverts back to "GSM (auto) PRL" and then of course you need to change it back to CDMA. I just think this is a result of the program crashing.

So unless someone tells me they saw "GSM (auto) PRL" in the screen BEFORE they got the forced close, I'm going with it's just a glitch that only occurs when the force close happens. So if you never go in there and never get the forced close, then you are never setup for GSM (auto) PRL.

I did go through all the steps and it had no effect on my battery usage. But then again, when I first went into the screen (before the forced close) it was already set to CDMA. Now maybe if there are people who's phone is set to GMS before they get the forced close that would be an issue.
    06-18-2010 06:29 AM
    This is interesting but kind of confusing. That's a phone setting and the phone can't even "speak GSM" in other words, how would it even look for a GSM PRL update?

In other news, I recently had a PRL update (Queens, NY).
    06-18-2010 07:18 AM
    placebo effect?
    06-18-2010 07:22 AM