I'm an Android newbie. Got my Evo on June 5. All works well. My battery life is good now that I've settled down into regular use and stopped all the exploring of the phone and various apps.

I do have one lingering problem with the camera though. I think it is a software problem, but I'm not sure.

First of all, Qik will not do anything at all if I try to do a video call. I just get a black screen and eventually a Force Close message. The other parts of Qik work just fine. I can record videos and send them through e-mail or upload to FB.

After attempting a video call, the Camera application seems to freeze up, and I have to reboot, go back into Qik, then exit Qik, and finally go in through Settings>Application Manager and do another force close of Qik, and finally a reboot.

Then the camera seems to work again.

I suspect it is a software issue, but which software? The Camera itself, or something about Qik that refuses to let go of the camera?

The same thing happens with Fring.

Sprint and HTC have responded to my questions only with "We don't support 3rd party software" as if they never considered a problem with the hardware of the native Camera app.

Mike
    07-03-2010 10:37 AM
    i think you should try doing a factory reset and see if that helps

settings > Privacy > factory data reset
    07-03-2010 02:53 PM
    Updates. You should make sure your phone and apps are up todate. The qik app might need an update from the Android market. I use qik almost all day yesterday showing it off to friends and family.
    07-03-2010 03:09 PM
    I had the same problem with Qik when I used a task killer. My phone has been stable as a rock and since I did a factory reset and haven't touched a task killer. Plus, my battery is a hoss.
    07-03-2010 03:15 PM
    I had the same problem with Qik when I used a task killer. My phone has been stable as a rock and since I did a factory reset and haven't touched a task killer. Plus, my battery is a hoss.