Original htc evo 4g stuck in bootloop after custom Rom flash

mp317

Nov 20, 2010
Visit site
So first of all I'm sry if this post should be elsewhere, I'm a Posting noob as I've never had to do it before. My dilemma.. in I have the Samsung galaxy note rooted custom rom and previously The same with the captivate. I'm a very experienced flasher when it comes to att and Samsung devices. But not sprint and htc. My problem is my friend asked me to root his evo 4g. The method I found Was a three step method To unlock it and add a custom Recovery With the third step being either root and stay stock or flash a custom Rom. Well he wanted a custom Rom so we picked a team dirt one, put it on the root of the sd card, flashed it using the custom recovery and it all went well. Installed the Rom and made it past the evo 4g screen to the rom title boot screen, where it went into a boot loop. So the phone can still go into recovery, so I know all Hope isn't lost. But is there something similar to odin I can use to go back to stock or just mount it to a pc delete the Rom and put a new one Or stock one on and flash it? Sorry for the long post and lack of detaill. Any suggestions/help is appreciated.

Last edited:

tube517

Jun 28, 2010
Visit site
Which recovery does the phone have? Clockword Mod (CWM) recovery sometimes has problems so it's better to go with Amon RA 2.3 or Smelkus. There should be links in the Rooting section of this EVO 4g forum. Sorry, I am on my phone and can't get to the link

tayl428

Nov 2, 2010
Visit site
Does the rom you loaded have App2SD? If so, you will have to create an EXT Linux partition for it to work correctly. What you are seeing would be an indication that you need an EXT partition.

OperationA7X

Jul 6, 2012
Visit site
Your issue: Didn't flash the "Boot.img" file.

My question(s) to you: Are you S-ON or S-OFF? Do you still have the ROM installed on the phone?

Solution: Flash the "Boot.img" file if you are S-ON.