HTC Tech Support, #Fail

4 Star General

May 12, 2010
Visit site
They are the worse, when it comes to this EVO. They have no clue when it comes to the internals and guts of this device. Its either the wrong answer or no answer at all. Wow. If you can steer me in the right direction, I usually can figure the rest out. They can't even do that. I'm trying to figure out the preset folder arrangement and they are clueless, like me. The 30th is my last day with this phone, return!

Insp_Gadget

Inspector Gadget
Apr 22, 2010
Visit site
The folders are empty. If and when I unistall a App the folder won't delete itself?
Maybe. Maybe not. It depends on if Android had access to the SD card during the uninstall or if the developer included the folder in the uninstall script.

I'm not an Android developer, but I've done my share of programming and it's typical for stuff to be left behind when apps get uninstalled.

Why is this issue something that HTC support should know or be able to address? It's a developer issue if they leave garbage behind.

evoKY

Jun 3, 2010
Visit site
With all due respect OP, HTC Tech Support is available to assist people that truly have issues. It is neither their job nor their function to explain the "internals and guts" to you. You obviously are bothered by the fact that there are empty folders on your phone when you plug it in via USB; however, these empty folders do not affect the performance of your phone and is simply a non-issue. If you don't like to see the empty folders, simply delete them.

R32_Rocky

Jul 23, 2010
Visit site
To some defence of the General, eventually, waaaaay down the road this could cause a problem for two reasons:

1) if there were hidden files in these folders, they can take up space. When viewing them on your PC, make sure in the computer settings you have "show hidden files" and "show hidden system files and folders" selected to see if they are truly empty.